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Division ( Petition filed )
In some cases, the petition is isi i i iri

' Ex Parte Order (A deC|5|on. made by a judge without requiring all
filed after the ex parte order. of the parties to be present.)

v

Pre-Hearing Conference (PHC)

v

Protective Custody Hearing

Should be held no later than 8 days
after the child’s removal from home.

I:.)r c:lldlrden remov.e:.fromdhome],c ‘ For children not removed from the home,
this should occur Wlt n 6(_) aYs ° Adjudication Hearing or this should occur within 90 days of the
the petition being filed. settlement petition being filed.
e )
Finding of abuse . ‘( No Finding
and/or neglect 'L Case Dismissed
. ‘ J
(Judge orders . . . Should be held within 45 days from
Disposition Hearing o .
what happens next) the adjudication hearing.
Review Hearing Occurs every 6 months for the life
‘ of the case.
Pre Hearing
. Only happens in some jurisdictions
Permanency Review Occurs when child is out of the home
(PHPR) 15 of the last 22 months. Determines
Occurs every 12 ‘ if there is an exception to TPR.
months for the life|  Permanency Hearing See Nebraska statute § 43-292.02.
of the case.

\[ Excepl'iOn Hearing ]..
Reunification /\
( Guardianship ) Exception found. No exception found.
Returns to Termination of

Aging Out

review hearing Parental Rights (TPR)
See Nebraska rule § 6-104 for more information on case A
progression standards for child welfare cases in juvenile
(Adoption) (Guardianship)

This chart provides only a brief overview of the case progression for abuse and neglect cases. It does not provide a comprehen-
sive outline of all of the steps and procedures that may be applicable in your specific case. For a detailed explanation about any
of the topics listed you may talk to an attorney or visit the Nebraska Supreme Court Legal Resources and Information page. The

Guide for Foster Parents and Relative Caregivers might also be helpful. Trial Court Services Rev. 10/19 AD 2:32



https://supremecourt.nebraska.gov/supreme-court-rules/chapter-6-trial-courts/article-1-case-progression-standards/%C2%A7-6-104-time
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=43-292.02
https://supremecourt.nebraska.gov/self-help/legal-resources-information
https://supremecourt.nebraska.gov/sites/default/files/files/2921/publications_fosterparentsandrelativecaregiversguide_1.pdf

